Travel hair, Crete

Hair conditioner, Hair results, Holidays

I’ve been islandhopping lately…


Now is all that travel good for the hair? I’m not entirely sure, but I know it does get dry from the recirculated air on a flight, the mixed UK temperatures (standard) and then hot, wind-less temps when I step out of the airport into a new country. 

Sigh. Keeping your hair healthy let alone looking decent is an effort, but I’m determined to make it easier. As per, the practice is always more difficult than the method, and my recent trip really tested this theory: my twin sister and I were heading to Crete, Greece for a wedding, in the middle of July. Yep, this actually happened, sweat and all.


In a bid to keep my curls stunning, I packed my rich GROWTH leave-in hair conditioner, but I couldn’t bring my castor oil because I only brought my small carry-on. There wasn’t any need to worry however, because we happened upon some superb Cretan olive oil. My God it smelled fantastic. 

Okay so many people turn their nose up at putting runny olive oil on their scalps compared to highly-prized coconut, castor or shea, but it’s was a bloody dream. 

The locally-made oil was a bit thicker than the stuff I’d bought at home, and it softened my skin something ridiculous, so I put it on my scalp. 


The difference was unreal. My hair looked beautiful for the wedding, and even during a few salty beach trips my hair stayed gorgeous. I felt and saw the results the most however, when I came home and rinsed my hair after using it on my scalp for one week. My God, my hair was like silk. Literally silky soft to the touch. 

Olive oil: something from the Gods. Note, my sister and I also found wonderful organic brand too, it was just a smidge pricey for the amount you get, and the amount, with my hair, I’d use. Nonetheless a great hair oil, just a darn shame there wasn’t more of it. 


More travel hair tips coming as I mooch around this little earth. 

2 thoughts on “Travel hair, Crete

Leave a Reply

