You’ve grown 

Hair results

Morning kittens. I straightened my hair as you saw in my second to last post, but it wasn’t quite straight-straight. Dead straight I’m talkin’.

So I straightened it again (went over it with straighteners). To be honest, this is how it is with my hair. The first time I wash it, my hair is flat and the curls aren’t to my liking. It takes about two days for it to naturally get to how I like it. The same can be said for when I starighten it.

My hair is straight today (Monday). I straightened it on Tuesday. Is it the same for you other naturalistas who try straightening your curls before you decide to revive those curls again?

  

Now I’d like to discuss my results considering I’ve been using my own all-natural hair conditioner to ensure strength and length for a year now.

I’m unashamedly selfish, and looking after my hair, essentially myself, makes me feel good. Disclaimer over.

  

Back to my hair. Was it easier to straighten after using only natural products? After two years of avoiding heat (not even a hairdryer)? Maybe. My hair was softer, definitely. And took about an hour and forty minutes to straighten. The answer? Coconut, Shea and essential oils. But it’s the quantities that matter. I cannot stress how mindful you must be re eo’s, but I digress.

Everyone at work had a bit of a moment when I came in, a few oohs and ahhs, but mostly questions, funny people. In my year and ten months at work I’ve kept it curly.

What concerns me is that they like it. Most people like it. I like it. But I also love it curly. Bah. Satisfy the masses? Look pretty? I’ll openly admit I kept it straight for a while because my ex liked it. I couldn’t feel more like fuck that. Purely selfish, curious reasons this time – did I say it’s been two years?

I know my ends don’t look too good, but I’m not fussed. I’ll no doubt trim the ends myself before I give way to my curls again.

Until then, flipping my own hair, feeling like Barbie.

Leave a Reply

