New girl

Hair results

Hey babycakes, I feel like an absolute doll with straight hair – all hail the flippy, tossable locks that move at my whim.

It’s been two years you see. Two whole (25 months in fact) years of me tending to my curls, peacocking about that heat-free life.

But I’ve been curious and I had to scratch that itch.

I’d been thinking about straightening my hair for a few months, and by thinking about it, I mean putting it off, worrying about the damage, the effort, etc. And then Tuesday night, I just did it.

It took about an hour to straighten and came out different to the last time (two years ago). It’s long. Longer than I expected. It’s kinked up in the pictures, but it has, in fact, actually grown. Which makes me happy. It’s now down my back.

 
Sleep however, intervenes with the revelling in the length moment, however. But here’s a few photos of how it actually looked, thankfully, earlier in the week.


  
Messy, but I was never a straight-straight kinda girl. Nature interfered with that idea, hence the curls, the volume, and just-dragged-through-a-bush look. But it’s my hair, straight.

It don’t make no sense, less I’m doing it with you. I do believe I’ve become a Bieber fan. I won’t use the fan-name. I won’t do it. Oh heck. I’m a Belieber. Listening to his album whilst I write this. Keep each other company… So back to this post. Change is good. Kind of forcing myself to accept that. Loving straight hair, but I’ve always loved it straight. The hard part was accepting my hair curly. It’s still a process.

 

I think I speak for most naturals when I say that going to bed can be a nightmare for hair. I love sleep, and could easily spend most of my mornings in the land of nod. But those gorgeous eight hours, can, and often do turn my hair from what was an acceptable, dare I say pretty look into someone who’s never seen a brush. 

I do love it when it curls, naturally, at the ends. But I wanted it straight, so I’m keeping it like this until I wash it. 

Enjoy kids.

8 thoughts on “New girl

    1. Thank you! And really simply (but not necessarily easily!). Post ‘wash’ and deep condition, I parted my hair in to eight sections, each thoroughly brushed, with oils put on my roots. I plaited each section (to make it easier than just straight up bush) until it was time to do said section.

      Like

Leave a Reply

